ISO PPC classifications are now split. Before Stith had us at 7/9; We are now 7/7X and might have reached 5/5X with Mr. Pittman but Mr. Stith has other plans

Public Protection Classification

New classifications

Through ongoing research and loss experience analysis, we identified additional differentiation in fire loss experience within our PPC program, which resulted in the revised classifications.
We based the differing fire loss experience on the fire suppression capabilities of each community. The new classifications will improve the predictive value for insurers while
benefiting both commercial and residential property owners. Here are the new classifications and what they mean.

Split classifications

When we develop a split classification for a community —
for example 5/9 — the first number is the class that applies to
properties within 5 road miles of the responding fire station and
1,000 feet of a creditable water supply, such as a fire hydrant,
suction point, or dry hydrant. The second number is the class
that applies to properties within 5 road miles of a fire station
but beyond 1,000 feet of a creditable water supply. We have
revised the classification to reflect more precisely the risk of loss
in a community, replacing Class 9 and 8B in the second part of a
split classification with revised designations.
What’s changed with the new classifications?
We’ve published the new classifications as “X” and “Y” —
formerly the “9” and “8B” portion of the split classification,
respectively. For example:
• A community currently graded as a split 6/9 classification will
now be a split 6/6X classification; with the “6X” denoting what
was formerly classified as “9.”
• Similarly, a community currently graded as a split 6/8B
classification will now be a split 6/6Y classification, the “6Y”
denoting what was formerly classified as “8B.”
• Communities graded with single “9” or “8B” classifications will
remain intact.

Current classification Proposed classification
1/9 1/1X
2/9 2/2X
3/9 3/3X
4/9 4/4X
5/9 5/5X
6/9 6/6X
7/9 7/7X
8/9 8/8X
9 9


Current classification Proposed classification
1/8B 1/1Y
2/8B 2/2Y
3/8B 3/3Y
4/8B 4/4Y
5/8B 5/5Y
6/8B 6/6Y
7/8B 7/7Y
8/8B 8/8Y
8B 8B

Commercial eQuote and Advantage will not change. The only changes you’ll see are the values from ISO.

Minimum Criteria for Class 8B

Class 8B is a Public Protection Classification (PPC™) for communities that provide superior fire protection services and fire alarm facilities but lack the water supply required for a PPC of Class 8 or better.To compensate for limited water supplies, many communities have improved their firefighting equipment, training, and management techniques, as well as their fire alarm systems. Class 8B will recognize those improvements.

eQuote ex.:  A new split value is retrieved from ISO

If no exact Protection Class is returned from ISO, the user will be able to choose from the complete listing.

The following illustration should help:
We’re revising our Public Protection Classifications (PPC™) to capture the
effects of enhanced fire protection capabilities that reduce fire loss and fire
severity in Split Class 9 and Split Class 8B areas (as outlined below). The new
structure benefits the fire service, community, and property owner.
New Public Protection Classifications

As you can see, we’re still maintaining split classes, but it’s how
we represent them to insurers that’s changed. The new designations
reflect a reduction in fire severity and loss and have the
potential to reduce property insurance premiums.
Benefits of the revised split class designations

• To the fire service, the revised designations identify enhanced
fire suppression capabilities used throughout the fire protection

• To the community, the new classes reward a community’s fire
suppression efforts by showing a more reflective designation.

• To the individual property owner, the revisions offer the
potential for decreased property insurance premiums.
New water class

Our data also shows that risks located more than 5 but less than
7 road miles from a responding fire station with a creditable
water source within 1,000 feet had better loss experience than
those farther than 5 road miles from a responding fire station
with no creditable water source.

We’ve introduced a newclassification — 10W — to recognize the reduced loss potential
of such properties

What’s changed with Class 10W?
Class 10W is property-specific. Not all properties in the
5-to-7-mile area around the responding fire station will qualify.
The difference between Class 10 and 10W is that the 10W-graded
risk or property is within 1,000 feet of a creditable water supply.
Creditable water supplies include fire protection systems using
hauled water in any of the split classification areas


Leave a Reply