Yes, this also was provided to the FBI along with another long due complaint

JOSEPH ANDREW GREENE

Andrew Greene has been favored by John Rhett Bullard, councilor and former mayor of the Town of White Springs.  It is alleged that such favoritism, by knowledge of citizens in White Springs, that Andrew Greene prior to his marriage was not only a participant in gay sexual activities with former Manager Robert C. Townsend, but also that Andrew Greene destroyed the evidence (sex paraphernalia) used in raping Department of Corrections inmates so that Townsend could not be indicted.  The Statute of Limitations thus ended and Townsend was never charged and evidence was never found.

It begins with Chief Pittman, who had the best Volunteer Fire Department White Springs has ever had.   Chief Pittman wished to remove Andrew Green as Assistant Fire Chief because he was unsafe and the firefighters under Pittman were exceptionally trained as Greene was not.  He was told by Town Manager Tebo that Andrew Greene would remain as Assistant Fire Chief and Andrew Greene was given a new Fire Department Emergency Vehicle for his personal use to drive to and from his residence in Lake City, FL; to visit his parents in law in Tampa and to go on vacations or whatever else he wished…plus credit cards for maintenance and fuel plus a fireman’s stipend others did not receive:

Although there was ample time for Stacy Tebo to stipulate a Memorandum of Complaint regarding Chief Kevin Pittman, Stacy Tebo did so one hour prior to the January 9, 2018 council meeting.  The council members had not received her complaint in their council packets nor had Kevin Pittman received the complaint to review until the meeting started..

See Addendum 7 – Tebo states that she had requested his resignation as Fire Chief, and that he could remain a volunteer if he wished on November 29, 2017.  She did this because she wished to avoid any public embarrassment caused by disciplinary action.  She stated, “knowing that any public records created for that purpose would certainly be publicized on a local blog”. ..   “I was also mindful that anything I created would become part of his personnel file which could be reviewed by potential future employers and anyone that wished to see it.”

Tebo also states that the Charter provides that only the Town Manager, town attorney and police chief are hired by the Council.  Again, the Charter does not discuss the Fire Department which technically has equal billing to the police department; therefore it should be under the auspices of the Town Council not the Town Manager, but currently the Charter has no mention of who is in charge.  Secondly all volunteers are approved by the council with a vote and our firefighters are volunteers.  My husband and I are probably the only volunteers to be denied even with extensive experience and educaton.   Stacy Tebo did accredit Andrew Greene for giving her the name of Kevin Pittman to be fire chief.

 

Chief Pittman organized an in-house course to get our volunteers certified.  The Town does not pay or reimburse our fire fighters to attend Fire College and for room and board so Kevin Pittman who had a previous certification as an instructor trained our firefighters so they could pass the 206 hour course.

 

Tebo’s major complaint relating to Kevin Pittman was that he was a CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR until his certification expired on June 30, 2015 and he did not opt for the one year extension until 6/30/2016 because he did not take the 40 hour course.   Therefore instead of thanking him for what he had done personally with the fire fighters to assure they would pass, the Fire College did not accept Kevin Pittman’s signature.  As a result, one of the students who he assisted was fired by the Division of Forestry because the lack of certification.  Yet other Chiefs signed the certifications on Pittman’s behalf.

 

IT HAS NEVER BEEN REQUIRED THAT OUR FIRE CHIEF BE A CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR AND THERE ARE NO SPECIFICS WITHIN OUR CHARTER.  NONE OF THE OTHER CHIEFS WERE CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS.   PITTMAN ASSISTED THE FIREFIGHTERS WHO HAD NO MONEY TO PAY FOR THE COURSE AND THAT IS ADMIRABLE. The Town does not pay for fire school, nor for board or room while going to school, nor for fuel and gas used by volunteers and does not even provide required equipment in many cases.

 

Tebo also blamed Kevin Pittman for having major repairs completed on the newly purchased pre-owned fire engine in October before the Council had even approved the agreementShe complained he ordered decals for the engine and removed the Windsor decals.  She was upset with him about the purchasing policy and although she apprised Mr. Pittman that he should maintain the pre-used fire engine, she was angry that she did not get the cost in advance.  $3,702.51 was required for repairs, mainly because of the Turbo which Stacy did not understand was essential to be repaired.  When she initially was asked by Kevin Pittman and Thomas Brazil, she told them to get the maintenance done and did not tell them to secure an estimate first.    Furthermore, if Thomas Brazil and Kevin Pittman did not tell Stacy Tebo that Windsor was having a title problem, the vehicle was still in the Town’s possession which is nine points of the law. 

Stacy Tebo did not have a copy of her complaint for Kevin Pittman but rather Rhett Bullard gave him a copy.  Mr. Pittman was given five minutes to read the complaint and essentially called it crap and resigned.   When there was a complaint made that a copy should have been given to Kevin Pittman in advance, Rhett Bullard said, he should have known what he did wrong.   Yet I am certain these charges were never communicated to him. Then the members of the fire department who were there stood up and Rhett Bullard told them they were out of order and we were done with Fire Department Business.  Thomas Brazil was the first to say My name is Thomas Brazil, I’m a Firefighter engineer for White Springs Fire Department and this is my resignation.”.

We were told that Andrew Greene Assistant Fire Chief would not allow the Fire Department to spend money even though they receive $17,000 from the County each year.  They required breathing apparatuses and Andrew Greene said such were frivolous or something to that effect.  He said Stacy would not provide it because we did not have money.  Then Stacy blamed Mr. Pittman for not securing a grant for breathing apparatuses when it is the Manager’s duty to coordinate and place together grant information.

Stacy Tebo and Rhett Bullard will do nothing to reimburse the firefighters, for fuel and use of their own vehicles.  This is a shame because they should receive a stipend each time they show up for duty, especially since they have to use their own vehicles to follow the fire truck since the second SUV is not available to them..

 

Andrew Greene uses the new SUV fire truck personally.  Not only does he receive $120 per month but all maintenance and fuel is paid for by the Town, even when he takes frequent trips to Tampa and he lives in Lake City.   This leaves other volunteers who have to catch up with the fire truck using their own vehicles which they maintain and for which they pay all costs of fuel.

 

When it comes to Stacy Tebo however, we will pay her legal fees with no applicable limit or cap; but we cannot allow the volunteers to use the fire truck for which the grant was meant for nor can we provide them with breathing apparatuses.  Yet Rhett Bullard gives her complete control and will not agree to mediating differences.

 

White Springs fire chief, six other firefighters resign

 

WHITE SPRINGS, Fla. — Seven members of the White Springs Fire Rescue, including Fire Chief Kevin Pittman, resigned at Tuesday night’s town meeting.

The resignations came after discussion at the December meeting in regards to Town Manager Stacy Tebo asking for Pittman’s resignation Nov. 29. Also during that meeting, members of the fire department asked for support in a vote of no confidence against Assistant Fire Chief Andrew Greene.

The council then decided to move the issues with the fire department to the January agenda.

During Tuesday’s meeting, Tebo submitted a Memorandum of Complaint against Pittman, providing each council member a copy.Several citizens asked for a copy of the memo as well as Pittman, who said he had not seen or heard of the memo.

“This document was created today and was finished right before the meeting,” Tebo replied.+ Pittman said: “Since it involves me I would like to be able to read through it.”

According to the memo, Tebo asked for Pittman’s resignation in order to avoid public embarrassment and keep disciplinary action out of his personnel file. Tebo added that when she asked for Pittman’s resignation it was just as chief, that he could decide whether to remain as a volunteer firefighter.

In the memo, Tebo outlined the reasons that led to her decision to seek the resignation, mainly stemming around attempts to get certification for the town’s volunteer firefighters.According to the memo, Pittman allegedly had told Tebo he was a certified instructor and with the help of another instructor would hold classes to provide certification for the firefighters.

Last summer, Tebo and Pittman had talked about recognizing everyone who earned their certifications publicly at a meeting, according to the memo. The recognition was rescheduled from June to July because not everyone had received their certificates. The recognition was held at the July 11 meeting.

However, Tebo states in the memo that she received a call from Hamilton County Emergency Management Director Henry Land on Aug. 2, stating one of the individuals was not certified and Pittman’s signature was not being accepted by the fire college.

Land offered Tebo assistance in getting students certified and could sign off on the certificates, according to the memo. Tebo told Pittman and he allegedly stated it would not be necessary.

In the memo, Tebo states she then looked further into Pittman’s previous employment and certifications where she found an expired instructors certification. It expired June 30, 2015, and was given a one-year extension to June 30, 2016.

While looking into his previous employment at Suwannee County Fire Rescue it shows he was terminated on July 12, 2012, and is stated on his resume that he worked with SCFR through July 2013.

“He was dishonest to me about his instructor certification,” Tebo wrote, adding “he was also dishonest on his resume.

“The integrity of the Town, the Council, and myself was compromised as we unwittingly participated in the deception.”

Also in the memo, Tebo documented issues surrounding the purchase of a fire truck from the Windsor Fire Department. The memo states that Pittman had spent money on repairs and decals for the truck prior to the council approving the agreement, also alleging that the repairs were done without her approval.

After given a chance to read through the memo and prior to the memo being read aloud at the meeting, Pittman resigned.

“I have been fired before and I have quit a lot of jobs, so effective right now you have my resignation as fire chief for this department,” Pittman said. “Tomorrow I will return the truck, personal items and the keys, my keys to the town.

“There is no point in going through this, this nothing but… crap. I’m just going to say it and I am not going to have my name put out there and walked on.”

Following Pittman’s resignation, six volunteer members of the department resigned as well.

“Hold on. We have moved on from the fire department, there’s no…” Mayor Rhett Bullard said before the six volunteers cut in stating: “Let’s just do this right then right now. If you’re going to move on, then we’re going to move on. My name is Thomas Brazil, I’m a Firefighter engineer for White Springs Fire Department and this is my resignation.”

Brazil was joined by Antonio Perez, William Register, Peter Shanks, Andy Stormant and Andrea Thompson in submitting their resignation, leaving nine members at the fire department as of Wednesday afternoon.

End of Article

 

At the December 12th meeting, the firefighters had approached councilors on their way to the meeting to protest the firing of Kevin Pittman. Mr. Pittman did not attend the meeting.  Rhett Bullard pretended that he knew nothing about the request to remove Kevin Pittman as fire Chief and made no admission.  Walter McKenzie warned the council that if we remove Mr. Pittman without a fair hearing, we will no longer have a fire department.  Currently under Kevin Pittman as Fire Chief we have had more volunteers who are certified and who have protected White Springs and the surrounding area as no other town has had.

On behalf of all the Firefighters, one firefighter read the following to the Town Council in the December meeting:

WHITE SPRINGS FIRE RESCUE      December 12, 2017  VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE

We, the members of the White Springs Fire Rescue, have composed this letter to express our dissatisfaction with the current Assistant Chief, Joseph Andrew Greene.  Unfortunately circumstances have left us with no other recourse.  We have lost all trust, faith and confidence in Assistant Greene’s ability to lead this department

Asst. Chief Greene’s lack of dedication and inability to perform his duties in a timely fashion has damaged the department’s performance.  These problematic tendencies are very crucial in a field where mistakes and divisive behavior can cost department members and citizens their lives.  He has not upheld his position or responsibility to the Department and has not attended any department trainings, functions nor Station shifts since April 29, 2017.  Records show since July 1, 2017 a total of (51) responses have been required in and around White Springs.  Chief Pittman has responded to (35) of those calls.  Firefighter Brazil has responded to (29) calls, Firefighter’s Perez and Register have responded to (27), Greene has only responded to (7).  Other members of the department who are not able to reach the station in an adequate response time are often performing shifts and duties at the fire station on their days off from full time employment.  The only shift Greene has participated in was a contractual paid event.  During that shift, both he and member Dominique Greene were dismissed from their duties for inappropriate behavior and misconduct within a patient care area.

.

His lack of leadership, mismanagement and poor policy decisions have damaged the relationships within the department.  In June of 2017, Chief Pittman met with the Town Manager, Stacy Tebo, on behalf of the department to discuss Assistant Chief Greene’s lack of communication and his deliberate avoidance of training and department procedures.  Attempts to address workplace problems with Assistant Greene have gone unheeded by the Town Manager regardless of the number of complaints.

 

During Hurricane Irma, several members were present at the station for up to (72) hours each to perform their needed services due to the catastrophic impact of the storm.  Greene, who is also the town Utilities Director, was not present to fulfill his duties in public works and the fire department, before or during Irma.  No contact was maintained with the department during this time and several individual members were approached by contractors, city employees and citizens attempting to contact Greene.  This was a major devaluation of Greene’s dedication to the department, as Chief Pittman was present for the entirety of the storm including preparations and cleanup efforts alongside other responders, maintaining clear communication with all members.

 

Greene refuses to address issues presented to him by department members, answering inquiries in a dismissive manner showing disregard to the chain of command and the need of the department.  When approached by department personnel regarding essential firefighting equipment needing repair or replacement, he deflects questions and says “I do not have to explain myself”.  In other confrontations, he has told members that Town Manager Tebo has not allotted any budget for the department’s frivolous spending” and the equipment shall have to suffice, even though we must stress that the difference between life and death for firefighters is the degree of functioning equipment they possess.

 

With (8) certified Firefighter One members and (2) Firefighter Two members in the department with only (3) functioning air packs, this places all members in dangerous situations.  Greene’s lack of care for the issue shows his total disregard for department members.  He does not show respect to the livelihood or well-being of the firefighter’s safety.

 

 

In October, Assistant Chief Greene and Town Manager Tebo removed personnel access to the station’s computers required for reporting runs and other necessary information.  Taboo’s memo claimed that Greene would be taking full responsibility for the logging of paperwork and the running of reports.  Since this was enacted, Green has not performed his duties in a timely manner, often requiring members to tape reports, receipts and requests to his office door.  This attitude of poor management has sown distrust with his refusal to communicate properly.

 

We feel that the relationship with Assistant Chief Green is irreparable.  He has brought morale to an all-time low with his lack of leadership and poor management style.  Greene has established a pattern and practice of inequitable treatment of department personnel.  A bad manager can take a functioning staff and destroy it by causing the best employees to leave the Department and those which remain to lose all motivation.
In closing, we would like to reiterate one last time that the members of White Springs Fire Rescue have lost all trust and faith in Assistant Chief Andrew Greene’s ability to lead this Department.  We therefore, respectively ask that you support our VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE and relieve Assistant Chief Greene of his duties and responsibilities pertaining to the Fire Department.
 
Respectifully yours,
The Members of White Springs Fire Rescue 

End of Letter

 

Making a vote of no confidence in Andrew Greene,  in a public forum, was their last hope in this towns’ city officials to do something about the problem. It was brought to Stacy Tebo’s attention in a meeting she and Kevin Pittman had.   When he asked her who appointed Greene as Assistant Chief an She stated Stith did (A former chief who quit twice who used Greene as an administrator only but neither fought fires as volunteers).

Pittman also informed her that he was going to remove Greene from the Assistant Chief spot and just do away with it because it was not needed due to the quality of leaders he had under Greene. . Stacy Tebo said ”No; You cannot remove Greene again”. She was told he can stay on the department as a fire fighter but not as the Assistant Chief again. She said “No!”.   Much of this information was received from the firefighters themselves.

Andrew Greene handles the Wastewater Treatment plant and he assisted Robert C. Townsend former Town Manager and a cousin of Rhett Bullard’s prior to taking over the utility when the former was fired. Although he was appointed Assistant Fire Chief by former Fire Chief Steven Stith at the direction of Rhett Bullard, and former Town Manager Robert C. Townsend, he has never been inside a structure fire or been to one in three years. He has shown up to two fires in shorts and flip flops handing water to the other firefighters. Yet he uses the new SUV for personal use and shows up at the annual Christmas parade, various restaurants in Lake City and various areas of Tampa.. And as such the Town’s insurance will be liable for a possible Auto Liability claim in the event he has a blackout or a workers’ compensation’ claim for Greene, since there is no paperwork and as long as he drives the vehicle whether work or personally he is covered for workers’ compensation.

The reason Rhett protects Andrew Greene is because his number one client is Andrew’s grandmother Ethen McGhin, so there is a clear conflict of interests and ethics. It all goes back to the conflict of interests between Rhett’s law practice who just happens to have as one of their biggest clients, Andrew’s grandmother Ethel McGhin  Rhett won’t let any harm come to the boy because it affects him financially

If you want more proof on Andrew’s condition, we were told one should should look into Andrew’s use of sick leave at work.  Some of these days may have been because he was sick but some them may have been to cover up his seizures and blackoutsSpecifically days where Andrew may have come to work but then at some point in time had to go home sick

The members of the Fire Department on the night of the council meeting did not intend to resign but when Ms. Tebo did not provide the memo to Mr. Pittman in advance of the meeting so he could defend these allegations, the firefighters felt they would be treated the same. As members of the department, they felt that if Rhett Bullard and Stacy Tebo would do that to Chief Pittman, bringing up issues from many years ago, they felt they no longer had the support of their town officials.”  The members decided that they had no other choice but to leave the department because if Ms. Tebo did it to two different chiefs and Rhett Bullard would not stand up for the department, who would be next?.

Pittman was the only chief that worked for in this town/department that stepped up to do the job to get everyone trained to hold meetings, family dinners, and events for the kids in this town. He stepped up when no one else would take a broken down department with little to nothing an bring it into the 21st century. The Town had no dedicated members before he took over. It is known first hand that  previous members of the department did not show up for calls in the middle of the night during the day or even come wash a truck. 

When Chief Pittman took over the fire department gained some of the best members any department could ask for.  They showed up to calls cleaned and manned the station cleaned the trucks took care of the equipment. They gave a damn about this department and this town’s citizens.

The firefighters tried to give the best of the best to the town and we were constantly shut down by city hall.

We had the most members of any department in the county now this town is left with nothing but three even though the town manager stipulates there are seven firefighters. It doesn’t matter how many names you have on a piece of paper it matters on how many show up. How many show up in the middle of the night to help you. How many show up when you need them at your most critical times is what counts. So this list means nothing and holds no water when no one shows up.

“Just know we as members are sorry that we could not do more for this town but just know we gave it our best and we did, all we could do, with NO SUPPORT FROM THE TOWN OFFICIALS ie Stacy Tebo the town Mayor and two of the council members.”

Kevin Pittman was a certified Firefighter II, a medic, a hazmat tech and a fire inspector. He did not lie to her about everyone being certified as he stated to her that the firefighters have completed the required class of 206 hours and were awaiting the state certification at this time. The firefighters were aware that there was an issue with a signature and ll were aware that it was being worked on and it was taken care off.

Just know Chief Pittman did everything for this town.  He was the only fire chief I have seen show up in the middle of the night for medical calls, fires, crashes, Landing zone set ups.  He showed up. The firefighters said it was not the same for the previous chief or the assistant chief. Chief Pittman showed up when this town needed him; when this town needed a chief and a leader. He single handedly turned a broken run down untrained unstaffed department and turned it into a full on working staff and trained a loyal department no thanks to City Hall, Rhett Bullard or Stacy Tebo.

Mayor Bullard, Vice Mayor Tonja Brown and Councilor Willie Jefferson allowed Stacy Tebo to fix what was not broken.  Now we technically do not have a fire department so in accordance with this ordinance, the Town better hire a third party fire agency because they are liable for this ordinance/contractual duty or bring Kevin Pittman back as Fire Chief and the fire fighters will follow

 

ORDINANCE #12-01 amends Section 5.06 of the Charter of the Town of White Springs as follows:

The Town of White Springs, Florida has the responsibility for providing fire protection services, whether by or through a White Springs Volunteer Fire Department or by and through an appropriate  contractual relationship with a third party fire agency.

The Town Council shall have the sole discretion in determining the manner for providing fire protection services for the safety and well being of the citizens of White Springs, Florida.  Nothing herein shall prevent the White Springs Volunteer Fire Department from assisting agencies as the need arises.

As the firefighters told me, the Town can lie that we have fire fighters, and make up some number or put in names from neighboring towns….but what matters is who shows up.  The firefighters we had showed up and as volunteers were treated poorly.  This was mainly because Rhett Bullard desired Andrew Greene to be fire chief or to remain as the Assistant Chief.

Regarding Mayor Bullard giving the second fire truck to Andrew Greene

 for his personal use.

There are no Town Regulations regarding Staff personally using the fire trucks.  At one time Tracy Rodriquenz was allowed to drive to and from Jacksonville and she was required to pay a portion of the fuel cost.

In the case of Andrew Greene, Helen Miller stopped the Town from purchasing a new Vehicle Pickup 4/4 so Andrew could travel back and forth to Gainesville.  Since he was favored by Rhett Bullard and Pam Tomlinson, they were upset and a motion was made before the power of three could vote against Helen Miller’s motion.

Greene was of course upset with us as well and the fact that we reported him driving, I believe, the bush truck.  He would display lights and sirens when coming by our house and would throw firecrackers at our Jeep and house along with one of his cousins.  We had to report it to the police.  Yet he used it as his personal toy to look like a valid firefighter.

Each case is decided on its own merits but only favored employees such as Tracy Rodriquenz and Andrew Greene have received this additional benefit by reason of Rhett Bullard and his power of three

Mr. Green is our water and wastewater operator and because of the automated system he need not spend more than two hours a day at his job and frequently goes home after he is done.  Mr. Greene also suffers from blackouts which render him helpless and the need to stay at home or rest.   Mr. Greene because of citizen pressure has given his resignation as of January 31, 2019; however, Mr. Greene has received favoritism from the town of White Springs since he started his job with White Springs.  While no one was paid for educational classes, Greene was.

 

 

What the Federal law says about employees who are paid but don’t work!

Under federal law, your employer may be required to pay you, as an employee, for time that you are not workingEmployers, in general, are required to pay their workers for time that is spent under the employer’s control and for the benefit of the employer. .

Under federal law, your employer may be required to pay you, as an employee, for time that you are not workingEmployers, in general, are required to pay their workers for time that is spent under the employer’s control and for the benefit of the employer. These wages could be paid for things like time you spend on-call, time spent traveling for business, and even time you spend sleeping! However, wages will generally not be paid for time spent commuting to and from work, or for time spent daydreaming.

 

This information is sent to you in addition to the Complaint regarding the Misuse of LOFT funds for which the facts herein represented may have included payment from the Local Option Fuel Tax funds which were used for salaries;

 

Karin A. Fleischhaker-Griffin

And Joe Edward Griffin,  Citizen Activist

 

 

Leave a Reply